14 Republicans vie for Pipkin’s seat

Eastern Shore Legislative Districts for 2014 election.

Eastern Shore Legislative Districts for 2014 election.

Fourteen Eastern Shore Republicans have applied to fill the District 36 Senate seat of Senate Minority Leader E.J. Pipkin, who resigned as of August 12 and is moving to Texas.

Five have been mentioned in previous stories, including Dels. Mike Smigiel of Cecil County and Steve Hershey of Queen Anne’s County, who have been political allies.

The members of the Republican central committees of the four counties in the district — Cecil, Caroline, Kent and Queen Anne’s — must now vote. Under the Maryland constitution, each county gets one vote to send a name to the governor for appointment.

The four central committees, with a total of 32 members, are expected to vote this week.

The candidates who have submitted their applications and resumes are:

  • Steven Arentz, current president of Queen Anne’s County Board of commissioners;
  • R. Scott Bramble, Cecil County, president of an insurance agency;
  • Frank Frohn, Queen Anne’s County, ran for commissioner in 2010;
  • John L. Graham, Queen Anne’s County;
  • Stephen S. Hershey, Jr., Queen Anne’s County, first-term delegate;
  • Andrew Langer, Queen Anne’s County, president of D.C.-based Institute for Liberty and Red Maryland podcast host;
  • Timothy McCluskey, Queen Anne’s County, a member of the Centreville Town Council;
  • Audrey Scott, Queen Anne’s County, former chair of the Maryland Republican Party;
  • Michael Smigiel, Sr., Cecil County, three-term delegate and attorney;
  • Richard A. Sossi, Queen Anne’s County, former delegate and current aide to Rep. Andy Harris;
  • Robert A. Thornton, Jr. Caroline County, last resident delegate from the county, elected as a Democrat;
  • John L. Walter, Queen Anne’s County;
  • John J. Walton, Jr., Caroline County;
  • Eric S. Wargotz, physician, for Republican nominee for U.S. Senate and Queen Anne’s County commissioner.

Related stories:

29,000 people of both parties voted for Pipkin, but just 32 Republicans get to choose replacement; Wargotz applying



About The Author

Len Lazarick


Len Lazarick was the founding editor and publisher of MarylandReporter.com and is currently the president of its nonprofit corporation and chairman of its board He was formerly the State House bureau chief of the daily Baltimore Examiner from its start in April 2006 to its demise in February 2009. He was a copy editor on the national desk of the Washington Post for eight years before that, and has spent decades covering Maryland politics and government.

Support Our Work!

We depend on your support. A generous gift in any amount helps us continue to bring you this service.