Senate President Mike Miller and Speaker of the House Michael Busch named the 12 members of the new legislative joint committee responsible for improving government transparency on Thursday.

Sen. Bill Ferguson, D-Baltimore City, and House Majority Leader Kumar Barve, D-Montgomery, will co-chair the committee. It will examine how transparent the government operations are and make recommendations to make information more readily available to the public.

“The bottom line is we want to maximize the government participatory experience for the average citizen,” Barve said.

The other members of the committee are: Sens. Joseph Getty, R-Carroll; Baltimore, J.B. Jennings; Nancy King, D-Montgomery; Katherine Klausmeier, D-Baltimore County, and Nathaniel McFadden; Dels. Talmadge Branch, D-Baltimore City; Robert Costa, R-Anne Arundel; A. Wade Kach, R-Baltimore County; Dan Morhaim, D-Baltimore County; and  Heather Mizeur, D-Montgomery.

The committee was established earlier this year by legislation proposed by Mizeur and Ferguson, which unanimously passed the Senate and nearly unanimously passed the House of Delegates.

The committee will compile a report of its findings on government transparency and recommendations to the full General Assembly each year by Dec. 1. Barve said that the committee has not planned its first meeting yet.

—Megan Poinski