State Roundup, 2nd edition, Races for County Council, Commission Sept. 15, 2010

The Maryland Association of Counties has a chart of how primaries went in each Maryland county posted on its Conduit Street blog.

MONTGOMERY COUNTY: The Gazette’s Erin Cunningham declares at-large councilwoman Duchy Trachtenberg out; incumbents Marc Elrich, George Leventhal and Nancy Floreen, and challenger Hans Riemer in. Trachtenberg conceded on Wednesday afternoon, saying she paid the price for standing up against special interests, reports The Post’s Michael Laris. The Examiner’s Brian Hughes said it looks like Trachtenberg will be the only one to pay for unpopular policies on council. Del. Craig Rice wins the District 2 council nod by a wide margin, reports The Gazette’s Meghan Tierney.

PG COUNTY: Prince George’s County Council District 9 winner Mel Franklin and District 8 primary winner Obie Patterson plan to usher in a new era of leadership in south county, writes The Gazette’s Zoe Tillman.

BALTIMORE COUNTY:Computer problems and human error slowed results in some contentious County Council races, reports The Sun’s Yeganeh June Torbati. Board of Elections workers traveled Wednesday to four or five precincts where poll workers left memory cards in voting machines. Unofficial results are slated to be tallied later today.

HOWARD COUNTY: Howard County Council member Mary Kay Sigaty held off a vigorous challenge from fellow Democrat Alan Klein, a vocal critic of Sigaty’s support of a massive redevelopment plan for downtown Columbia, in the only contested Howard council primary, Lindsey McPherson reports for the Columbia Flier. Sigaty will face Republican Tom D’Asto in the general election Nov. 2. Larry Carson of the Sun reports on Sigaty’s win.

AA COUNTY: Many Annapolis and Glen Burnie council races are too close to call, reports The Capital’s Erin Cox and Allison Bourg. Fewer than 100 votes separate Democrats Chuck Ferrar and Chris Trumbauer in Dictrict 6. District 2 Republicans John Joseph Grasso and Gary Middlebrooks are separated by a similar margin.

CARROLL COUNTY: Both of the incumbent county commissioners who faced primary challenges — Republican Michael Zimmer and Republican Julia Walsh Gouge — were defeated, reports the Carroll County Times staff. The Maryland Association of Counties blogs about the Carroll County primary at Conduit Street. All Carroll County results are available from the Carroll County Times here.

FREDERICK COUNTY: Incumbent county commissioners Kai Hagen, Blaine Young and David Gray appear to have passed the primaries, reports The Frederick News-Post’s Meg Tully. Unofficial results put Hagen on top of Democrats’ votes, and Young at the top of the Republicans’ tallies. The Gazette’s Sherry Greenfield also writes about the races. Complete county results are available from the Frederick News-Post under the “Election” tab on the homepage.

WASHINGTON COUNTY: Incumbent county commissioners John Barr and Terry Baker make it through the Republican primary to face re-election in November, writes The Herald-Mail’s Heather Keels. Fourth and fifth place finishers in that race are too close to call.

ALLEGANY COUNTY: Incumbent Allegany County Commissioners Bob Lewis and Dale Hutcheson were ousted in the Republican primary by challengers Mike McKay, Creade Brodie Jr., Bill Valentine and Mike Wade — the top three of whom will advance to the general election, reports The Cumberland Times-News’ Kevin Spradlin. On the Democratic side, incumbent Jim Stakem finished close to the bottom. Cumberland City Council members Butch Hendershot and Pete Elliott appeared to get through Tuesday’s primary, but they finished behind political newcomers Nicholas Scarpelli and David Kauffman, reports The Times-News’ Kristin Harty Barkley.

QUEEN ANNE’S COUNTY: Only one incumbent county commissioner — Democrat Paul Gunther, who was unopposed in the primary — will be up for re-election in November, the Maryland Association of Counties blogs on Conduit Street. The other four incumbents are not seeking re-election.

HARFORD COUNTY: The Dagger’s Brian Goodman posts unofficial precinct-by-precinct results.

OTHER COUNTIES: The Maryland Association of Counties has a chart of how primaries went in each Maryland county posted on its Conduit Street blog. 

JUDGES: The sitting Circuit Court judges in Baltimore and Cecil counties survived challenges in the primary, but in Anne Arundel, Alison Asti won one of the two spots in the Republican primary, putting her on the Nov. 2 ballot with Judges Ronald Jarashow and Laura Kiessling. The Capital’s Scott Daughtery reports.

About The Author

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!