Different states have different laws, and you have to follow them as you travel around. All these laws were created for the safety of the general public, and it’s our duty to respect them. Boating is a fun and healthy activity, but it can also pose a danger to its driver and other people. So, if you are planning to take your boat into the waters in New York, here are a few things must know.
You will Need a Boating Safety Certificate
You are not allowed to drive a watercraft in New York unless you have a New York Boating License. It only requires you to pay a one-time fee of $29.95, take a course, pass the test, and get the certificate that is good for life. It means you can bring your boat back whenever you want.
You Can Take Safety Course Online
Some might find it a drag to take a safety course when they already know how to operate a boat. But this is important for your own security. If it’s too much trouble, you can take this course online. Once you have studied the course, you will have to take part in an online exam to prove it. As soon as you pass that test, you can get your certificate to operate a motorboat.
14 for PWC and 18 for Powered Vessel
You can operate Personal Watercraft in New York even if you are just 14 years old. You will still need to get a Boating Safety Education Course that teaches you how to operate these personal watercraft. However, it’s much difficult and dangerous to operate a powered vessel. For that, you need to be at least 18 years of age and have the license discussed above.
76% Marks to Pass the Test
You will need to score at least 76% marks to pass the test and proves your qualification. It’s not exactly a difficult test if you really know how to operate a boat. Whether you visit a center or take it online, you are given 60 questions. If you correctly answer 46 of them, you pass the test, giving you a more than enough margin of 14 questions.
You Have Unlimited Tries
It would be no problem if you failed your test. You can take it again as many times as you want, and you don’t have to keep paying the fees over and over again. However, you must wait 24 hours before a new try. Each time you will be given a new test so you can’t memorize the answers. This ensures you really do study the boating course.
Licensed Commercial Vessel Operators are Exempt
Not everyone has to get a New York Boating Safety Certificate. If you have a license to operate commercial vessels in the USA or Canada, you are exempt from this certification. Likewise, state-certified instructors, Cost Guards, Power Squadrons, Police Officers, Fire Rescuers, and Lifeguards don’t need New York Boating Safety Certificate.